Restaurant Finder

The Flying Moa

3_half star rating 23 reviews

Telephone 09-570 2800

65 Lunn Ave
Mt Wellington
Auckland City

Cuisine:
New Zealand
Hours:
Mon - Sun 11am - Late
Provided by business

Overview

The Flying Moa daily lunch and dinner menus feature robust and hearty meals which include platters, salads, burgers and stone grills as well as a substantial bar menu. The Flying Moa is part of Barworks Hospitality Group.

Photos

Photo of The Flying Moa
Moa Antipasto
Bangers and Mash (wild boar sausages)
Moa Lamb Duo
twice cooked pork belly | slow cooked kumara | apple & tamarillo chutney | jus
sun-dried tomatoes | green peas | confit garlic | parmesan cream sauce

More Information

Categories:
Bar & Brasseries, Bistros
Price Range:
Moderate, $15 - $25
Dietary Restrictions:
Vegetarian
Meals Served:
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Outdoor Seating:
Yes

Reviews for The Flying Moa

1 star rating
by Kay
17th January 2014

Went there for lunch today and had to come home and make something to eat. Service was slow as reported in an earlier review. My husband had a BLAT which was very ordinary and the bread was stale. I had the marinated chicken which was raw in the middle on a stone grill. I had nearly eaten it when I spotted this. Apparently that is the idea that you cook it yourself. But really raw chicken on your plate with no change of utensils or plate!!! We won’t be dining there again.

Comment from Lance C. of The Flying Moa 17/01/2014   
Hi Kay, Our apologies on slow service today, I will look into…    More »
4 star rating
by Hayley C.
16th January 2014

Always enjoy going to The Flying Moa but just one suggestion – when trying to have an family meal at a pretty early time (i.e. 5pm-6.30pm) the music always seems to be super loud and it’s very hard to have a conversation. There aren’t a lot of family restaurants around in St Johns so just a thought to maybe turn it down slightly. This is a time when the pub isn’t that busy as well so it shouldn’t effect others too much. Just saying…. :)

5 star rating
by Kelly S.
1st December 2013

Fabulous, I have never been able to walk away from a restaurant without having one issue or another to mention/think about it..until now.
Initially, there was a error in my request for outside sitting but they solved it so quickly its not even worth mentioning.
The service was very smart, but yet no in your face at all.
The food..Oh the food.. I’ve got goosebumps just recalling the sensations that filled the senses that night.
OUTSTANDING.. The stone grill “two worlds” sent me on a glorious journey, my fellow diners had a twice baked pork belly, which also was fantastic beyond words.
Just everything was so so good, even considering it was a Friday night, during work do season and the place was packed.

4 star rating
by Tiffany
5th October 2013

Have been here a few times now, and have nothing but good things to say about this place. The stonegrills are amazing and the cocktails are a great after work treat!

5 star rating
by Leanne P.
28th July 2013

What an awesome eatery! Service was excellent and prompt. I didn’t have a booking but the staff fit us in anyway even though they were very busy. Food was delicious and good sized portions for the money. The Jam jar cocktails are divine. Had a fabulous time, next time I’m in Auckland I will be going back. Atmosphere was very friendly. I think if I lived near by it would be my local.

4 star rating
by Daniel F.
23rd July 2013

Went there yesterday for the Ribs night – all you can eat for $20

Tasty food – nice staff – overall brilliant

4 star rating
by Dylan
21st June 2013

Good atmoshere. Friendly staff. Good range of nibbles and food.

5 star rating
by Kirsten N.
31st August 2012

I have to say that myself and my partner have NEVER had a bad experience at the Flying Moa. The service is great, the wait time is either very quick or if it is busy the waitresses ensure us that the meals wont be far away.

Also once we have received our meals they always make sure that everything is ok and even check if we need another drink.

I love the food there and it is our local and would recommend to all.

The only thing i would like to ask is that could you create a platter without seafood on it as every time we order the Northen Moa we have to ask without any seafood but the chef and waiter behind bar always ensures that we can add extras to the platter instead of the sea food but it would be good if you could create one without the sea food on it.

Overall great experience always. Keep it up!!!

2 star rating
by Cher R.
9th August 2012

Moa Burger looks great, however, it’s the worst burger I’ve had in my life. The patty was made out of some type of meatloaf when the menu said that it was a 100% beef patty. It was absolutely disgusting. The reason the Moa got 2 stars is that our waitress was fantastic. She was extremely busy but still managed to do a great job i.e. attentive, offered suggestions, prompt drink service etc.

3 star rating
by Shenaye
11th July 2012

My mother and I thought we would go to the Flying Moa for dinner together as our previous experiences have been enjoyable, as for this time it was the complete opposite. We both ordered the small fish and chips (battered), it was tiny for $17.50, the fish was dark brown almost black and extremely dry and chewy, it was a struggle to swallow. Very disappointed with our meals and the ”customer service” from one of the girls. I’m not one to complain and I am not a fussy eater but this was appalling.

Comment from Lance C. of The Flying Moa 20/07/2012   
Hi Shenaye, this is definitely not the standard that we accept…    More »
5 star rating
by Anna M.
12th June 2012

Went there on Sat night to watch the rugby, was packed!!! Got a table in the dining area and the three of us were very happy with the service the 2 girls looking after that area gave us.
The food took a while but that was to be expected with it being so busy, but the girls let us know that it would be a little longer than normal and made sure we always had a drink if we wanted one.When it did arrive the food was really good :) Great cocktails in jam jars!!! super yummy

The food, atmosphere and great service by the smiling ladies in the dining area all mean I will definitely be going back there!! Just a bit earlier maybe if the rugby is on :)

3 star rating
by Ema M.
19th February 2012

Ok so it was our first time at the Flying Moa, the service wasn’t great we were standing at the top counter for at least 30min before we were directed to a table. On sitting, not once did a waitress come to see if we were ready to order so instead I went up to the bar requested some drinks and told the waitress that we were ready to order if she doesnt mind serving us please.

There after we enjoyed our meals and would return again on the acception that their services improoves. Some people should serve with a smile :) that will go along way.

Comment from Lance C. of The Flying Moa 23/02/2012   
Hi Ema, my apologies on behalf of my staff on this ocassion, I…    More »
5 star rating
by Cindy H.
6th December 2011

This place is pumping on a Thursday night! I went with a group of girlfriends for dinner two Thursdays ago which went down very well with the $7 cocktails. Awesome place to spend the evening in good company, with friendly staff who made us feel welcome right through the moment we come through the door. Will be back soon

3 star rating
by Kat S.
11th November 2011

Wednesday is steak night and great value! Nice friendly staff on the night we went, although it was very busy and loud. Would go again for this special deal. A bit overpriced for ‘pub’ food though.

2 star rating
by Ella
1st November 2011

Went there to celebrate a birthday, the service was quite average, none of the staff were that friendly, no one came to check on our meals or asked us if we needed/wanted anything else.

The food was not that great, and I’ve had better pub food for the same price. The ribs were alright, I’ve definitely had better at other restaurants though. The NYC Cheesecake was atrocious. The crust was salty and so was the cake, it’s like they used salted butter in the crust and added salt to the cake to try and bring out some flavor. The serving of the cheesecake was so small for $11. It has to be the worst dessert, so I would not ever recommend it.

I don’t think I’ll go back, or recommend this place as I know of better places where the food is far superior in presentation and taste.

Comment from Lance C. of The Flying Moa 3/11/2011   
Hi Ella, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, I am…    More »
2 star rating
by Shell
11th July 2011

Have been there twice and will never return, glad we had vouchers as certainly would not pay for the crap service we received both times, the food was ok a little over priced especially for the steak sandwich, visited on a Sat for lunch and 1 waitress (poor girl) felt sorry for her – drinks took about 15 mins and then they were wrong, we received the garlic bread with the mains and she says “oh sorry was the bread ment to have come first”

4 star rating
by Roz8
1st April 2011

YUM YUM YUM. THe steak deal on wednesdays is amazing value and I love a good hot plate! The ribs were very tasty and the meat just fell off the bone. Was a little diappointed by how many ribs you get though as once you go past the bone there isnt that much meat. Sharing was a great idea though my friend and i had half of each meal and were very satisfied by the end of the night!

1 star rating
by Jacqueline B.
21st January 2011

We ate lunch at The Flying Moa and were dismayed to find the Salsa accompanying one of the meals was fermented (i.e. it was rotten). We complained and the wait staff checked with the kitchen who confirmed it was not supposed to be like that and they would make a fresh batch (too late for our meal). Nevertheless they charged us full price for the meal. When pressed they gave us a voucher for a “free” beer if we return – which I certainly won’t be. The salads were all tired and I would be very worried that their food handling procedures are safe.

4 star rating
by April
23rd August 2010

Second visit here… Just as good as the first, great food, priced more than reasonably.
We were in a group of 8, on a Friday night. Great atmosphere.
Noisy on a Friday night which does not at all bother me, but may others.
Id say a great place for after works drinks also – especially during cocktail happy hour!

4 star rating
by April
16th August 2010

Great dinner we had here.
Service was fab – food was fab and well priced.
Huge meals for the price.
Atmosphere was awesome – we went on a thursday, and there was a band on.
We will be back

4 star rating
by Sandy
16th June 2010

Visited for lunch. A nice looking pub with a menu that caters well for pub grub (the usual deep fried items) or a nice lunch with clients (salads, steak, stonegrill etc.). I’d recommend the Flying Moa for its convenient location & parking, good service, nice interior. The food is OK. We’ll be back.

5 star rating
by han
9th March 2010

Went there for the first time last night and was WELL IMPRESSED. The place is very modern, tidy and clean and the menu is massive with heaps of really good sounding meals to choose from and the staff were absolutely superb. highly recomended and I am already thinking about going back for lunch next week.

4 star rating
by Satan
6th January 2010

Had lunch there with my wife and took advantage of the Entertainment Book’s complimentary main… Nice place with good food served promptly. Another of my favourites… PINTS!! Only downside is it’s proximity to the road.

Write Review

Powered by menumania.co.nz

  • dating
  • jobs
";